I feel like I’m home again

It’s hard to describe the feeling this morning.  Most of it, I think, at least in its early stages, is relief.  Relief that Sarah Palin will go home; relief that John McCain can’t advance the interests of the wealthy and powerful on the backs of the poor; relief that the discourse of hate and anger didn’t win the election.

It’s that last one, I think, that I hope is the ultimate legacy of this election.  To put it bluntly, the US told the Ann Coulters, Laura Ingrahams, Rush Limbaughs, Hannitys and O’Reillys and Liddys of the world, to SHUT UP!!!!!!  Our country, the one that belongs to ALL of us, not just the people who agree with you, has had it up to here with your hate and anger.  You gave it your best shot; you unloaded all the sleazy lies and innuendos you could think of; you spent hours and months, and millions of dollars, trying to generate a wave of hate, and that wave broke on a voting public that didn’t buy it. 

For the first time in at least 8 years, probably more like 20, I feel like I live in my own country again.  I didn’t wake up this morning wondering what the next phase of the coup (which inserted GWB into the White House) might look like.  Although I disagree with Barack Obama on a great many issues, I feel like he not only understands the issues facing the citizenry, but more importantly that he’s committed to energizing participation in our democracy–not just in the voting booth, but in our homes, schools, religious institutions, social service agencies, and everywhere else. 

The “change” Obama promises isn’t change in specific policies, although there are some policies that will certainly change.  The change he promises is in the whole ethos of how our nation governs itself, how the citizenry participates in its own governing, how the *process* of deciding what’s best and then doing it gets done.  I didn’t vote for Obama because he’s a Democrat (emphasis on the capital D).  I voted for Obama because he’s a democrat (small d), which means I believe his goal is to give the country back to the people, where the power belongs.

5 Responses to I feel like I’m home again

  1. ashpolitics says:

    Though I’m being inundated with hate emails this morning, warning that our country is on the verge of being ruled by the Anti-Christ (among other things), I wholeheartedly approve of your message (a little post campaign humor). Americans cast 12% more ballots this election than in 2004. Americans are hungry for change and Barack Obama will deliver it and will, as you say, deliver a return to democracy.

  2. sethkahn says:

    I haven’t started getting hate mail yet, but I’m sure I will. As the electorate made clear yesterday, we don’t buy that stuff. You and I already didn’t, and now we know most of the citizenry doesn’t either. So let them hate, as long as they don’t hurt anybody in the process. Sooner or later, they’ll either flame themselves out or they’ll step over a line and get punished.

    We have other things to do.

  3. Tim says:

    Congratulations, Seth! It was all worth it…. Everyone in Oz is so happy; it’s just unbelievable.

    Tim

  4. sethkahn says:

    Tim, not everybody here is as happy, but we’re working on it :).

  5. Voice of Reason says:

    Here’s the true nature of today’s liberal, ops, I meant to say “progressive”.

    Ingraham and Coulter have to SHUT UP, but a terrorist who wants to cut your head off, they we must listen to their grievences, determine the root causes and change our ways.

    As if that would make them NOT cut off your head.

    [“The “change” Obama promises isn’t change in specific policies, although there are some policies that will certainly change.”]

    So Obama lied, thanks for clearing that up.

Leave a Reply

