I’m voting Obama, OK?

In the last few days, I’ve seen a ton of hits (no comments, but lots of looks) at a post I wrote a couple of months ago called “Why I’m not sold on Obama.” At the time, I was a Hillary Clinton supporter, and I wanted to talk about why.

With Clinton out of the race, obviously, there shouldn’t be any question, barring something cataclysmic, that I’ll support Barack Obama’s candidacy. While I liked Clinton better than Obama, I certainly like Obama better than McCain; ergo, I vote for Obama.

Still too early to tell how actively I’ll support him outside the voting booth. I’ll have to see what he does and says during the actual campaign. I have some faith he’ll handle things better than John Kerry did in 2004.

4 Responses to I’m voting Obama, OK?

  1. OMGIAMGOINGNUTS says:

    http://elect2009.wordpress.com/2008/06/26/concerns-about-obama/
    Just have a look…that’s all I’m saying.

  2. sethkahn says:

    OMG: If you’re wondering why I posted this only once, it’s because I don’t like to put the same posts in more than one place. The old Obama/Clinton post is so old that almost nobody sees it anymore, so I put it here.

    As for the article, it has some content in it I agree with; they’re right that Obama’s positions on some foreign policy issues are a little slippery. Some of that, I expect, is endemic to campaign rhetoric; we’ll see how it plays out over the next few months. This is one of the reasons I don’t support him more ardently. However, even if their facts are correct (which I need to do some checking on), I still prefer Obama’s foreign policy to McCain’s, which strikes me as reckless in the extreme–even more than GWB’s.

    Also, remember the source. The National Review is the US’ leading journal of conservative thought and politics. There’s nothing Barack Obama could say, short of renouncing his membership in the Democratic Party and declaring himself a neo-con, that would earn him positive marks in that publication. So I take the whole project with a grain of salt.

    Short version–interesting article, probably some factoids in there that Obama supporters need to push him to account for, but not a slam-dunk.

  3. Bruce says:

    Seth,
    Originally I started as a Hillary supporter and voted for her in the CA primary. But then switched my support to Obama for many different reasons. However, I agree that must vote the Democrat over McCain. We simply cannot afford to have Bush’s policies continued. I’ve advocated for a unified party, and yet we also must hold Obama’s feet to the fire.

    http://thebruceblog.wordpress.com/2008/06/16/to-hillarys-women-she-broke-the-ceiling-so-save-the-baby/

  4. sethkahn says:

    Bruce: Yup. I still haven’t been able to declare myself an “Obama supporter” as much as a “McCain opponent,” but otherwise I think we’re on the same page. And I’m not sure that difference is especially substantive, although I know some people are sure.

Leave a Reply

