The first day of Spring Break

So it’s about 9 am on Monday.  Today is the first official day of Spring Break at WCU.  I’m sitting at the bar in Fennario Coffee, as I usually do on mornings when I’m not teaching, thinking about all the work I should do this week.  Drafts to respond to, a conference paper to draft, an article to revise, a book proposal to finish.  If you’re one of those folks out there who believes that college professors only work 12 hours a week, I’ve got news for you.  This week, my “break,” I expect to put in at least 60-70 hours catching up on work I can’t do while I’m doing other parts of my job.  Flex time and down time aren’t the same thing.

On a happier note, I’m really excited about the work itself.  My comrade JongHwa and I are back on track with a book we’ve been working on for several years now.  I’m excited that I get to do some cool work with Kevin M besides making trouble at APSCUF assemblies.  If I can just get this Radical Teacher article right, all be well.

And now back to our show…

Leave a Reply

